Member Resources

[ctitle title=”CERTIFICATIONS” background=”#ffffff” font_size=”40″]


Issued by the Department of General Services (DGS) – To be certified as a DVBE, your firm must meet the following requirements:

Your business must be at least 51% owned by one or more disabled veterans and your daily business operations must be managed and controlled by one or more disabled veterans

Disabled Veteran Business Enterprise (DVBE) Certification Eligibility Requirements. For DVBE certification purposes, a “disabled veteran” is: A veteran of the U.S. military, naval, or air service; The veteran must have a service-connected disability of at least 10% or more; and. The veteran must reside in California.

Get Started

Service-disabled veteran-owned small business concern is a business not less than 51 percent of which is owned by one or more service-disabled veterans, or in the case of any publicly owned business, not less than 51 percent of the stock of which is owned by one or more service-disabled veterans; the management and daily business operations of which are controlled by one or more service-disabled veterans, or in the case of a veteran with a permanent and severe disability, a spouse or permanent caregiver of such veteran. In addition, some businesses may be owned and operated by an eligible surviving spouse.

Eligible individual means a veteran, service-disabled veteran or surviving spouse, as defined in this section. Immediate family member means father, mother, husband, wife, son, daughter, brother, sister, grandfather, grandmother, grandson, granddaughter, father-in-law, and mother-in-law.

Service-disabled veteran is a veteran who possesses either a disability rating letter issued by the Department of Veterans Affairs, establishing a service-connected rating between 0 and 100 percent, or a disability determination from the Department of Defense.

Get Started

Issued by U.S. Small Business Administration – Participants can receive sole-source contracts, up to a ceiling of $4 million for goods and services and $6.5 million for manufacturing. While we help 8(a) firms build their competitive and institutional know-how, we also encourage you to participate in competitive acquisitions.

The 8(a) Business Development Program is a business assistance program for small disadvantaged businesses. The 8(a) Program offers a broad scope of assistance to firms that are owned and controlled at least 51% by socially and economically disadvantaged individuals.

In addition, 8(a) participants may take advantage of specialized business training, counseling, marketing assistance, and high-level executive development provided by the SBA and our resource partners. You can also be eligible for assistance in obtaining access to surplus government property and supplies, SBA-guaranteed loans, and bonding assistance for being involved in the program.

Get Started

To be a small business, you must adhere to industry size standards established by the U.S. Small Business Administration. As you register as a government contractor in the System for Award Management (SAM), you will also self-certify your business as small.

Is organized for profit, has a place of business in the US, operates primarily within the U.S. or makes a significant contribution to the U.S. economy through payment of taxes or use of American products, materials or labor, is independently owned and operated, and is not dominant in its field on a national basis

Get Started

Since October 2008, small businesses can self-represent their status as a small disadvantaged business (SDB). You do not have to submit an application to SBA for SDB status.

To self-represent as an SDB, register your business in the System for Award Management. However, you and your firm must still understand the SBA eligibility criteria for SDBs. Generally, this means that:

The firm must be 51% or more owned and control by one or more disadvantaged persons. The disadvantaged person or persons must be socially disadvantaged and economically disadvantaged. The firm must be small, according to SBA’s size standards

Get Started

Small business concern that is at least 51 percent directly and unconditionally owned and controlled by one or more women who are citizens (born or naturalized) of the United States.

To qualify as an EDWOSB or WOSB, the 51 percent ownership must be unconditional and direct. In addition, the management and daily business operations of the concern must be controlled by one or more economically disadvantaged women (for EDWOSBs) or women (for WOSBs).

Control means that both the long term decision making and the day-to-day management and administration of the business operations must be conducted by one or more economically disadvantaged women (for EDWOSBs) or women (for WOSBs)

Get Started